A reader’s journal

If I could wait to hear those words/They’re diamond sharp today. — Pavement, ‘In the Mouth a Desert’, from Slanted and Enchanted (1992).
This blog is the thoughts, musings, reflections and outbursts of a passionate reader. I am a slow reader, but a deep reader. For a long time now I have been wanting something that explores the experience of reading each text, as well as evaluating a text’s themes, language, and so forth. So this will be part reviews, part ramblings about whatever I am reading. Some of it will be in connection to my teaching, as, almost inevitably, I am a High School English teacher. Reading for me is a jumping-off point for thinking, immersion in language, meditation. It is my protest against our ‘speed is good’ lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

